Skip to content
175th-horizontal color

175th Anniversary Celebration 

Celebrate this milestone anniversary as Indiana’s oldest Jewish congregation during our “175th Season” of events from summer 2023 through winter 2024!

We marked this significant milestone as Indiana’s oldest Jewish congregation with a festive weekend on November 10-12, 2023.

In conjunction with our 175th, an exhibit at the Fort Wayne Museum of Art takes visitors on a journey through seven different themes during the Temple’s 175 years. Called “Jewish History and Art Illuminated: 175 Years of Congregation Achduth Vesholom,” the exhibit runs from November 11, 2023 through January 28, 2024.

Upcoming events include:

Mitzvah Day on Sunday, January 14 from 10 to 11:30 a.m. to continue work on our 175th Anniversary Mitzvah Project

Learning sessions with our Legacy Rabbinic Scholars:

Beit Cafe Coffeehouse on Saturday, February 3 at 7 p.m.

Scholar-in-Residence with Rabbi Dr. Gary Zola, Executive Director Emeritus of the American Jewish Archives in Cincinnati, on Thursday, February 22 and Friday, February 23.



Dr. Wendy Soltz will discuss her Indiana Synagogue Mapping Project on Sunday, April 14, 2024, at 2 p.m. at the ACPL Genealogy Center. The program is presented by the Northeast Indiana Jewish Genealogy Society in conjunction with the Temple’s 175th Anniversary season. She will talk about what has been accomplished since she last presented the project in 2021. Wendy is an Assistant Professor of History and Director of the Public History Program at Ball State University, as well as a Temple member.

Friday, November 10-Sunday, November 12, 2023

  • Share Shabbat services with us at 7:30 p.m., led by Rabbi Meir Bargeron.  Rabbi Rick Jacobs, president of the Union for Reform Judaism, will give the D’var Torah. Orin Reynolds, a Seattle-based musician who grew up at the Temple, will be our guest musician. 

    A Torah scroll will be presented to Jeremy Klotz, director of Goldman Union Camp Institute, our regional URJ camp in Zionsville, in appreciation of our long association with the camp. Many campers and Rabbis from Achduth Vesholom spent memorable times at GUCI.

    A festive Oneg Shabbat will follow the service.

    • Celebrate Shabbat during our morning Torah service at 9:45 a.m., led by Ron Friedman with Rabbi Meir Bargeon, followed by a Kiddush luncheon. (RSVP for lunch requested) Find out more
    • During a family-friendly evening, join us for a pizza dinner at 5:30 p.m., followed at 6:30 p.m. by an evening song session and Havdalah with Orin Reynolds. (RSVP for dinner requested) Find out more
  • A Community Open House for congregants and the greater Fort Wayne community will be held from 1 to 5 pm:

    • Take a docent-led Jewish Heritage Tour by trolley. Developed with ARCH, the tour focuses on locations related to Jewish life in Fort Wayne from the early days of Jewish immigration to the present. Tours will leave the Temple at 1:30 pm and 2 pm. Seating is limited and on a first-come, first-served basis. Ages 12 and up only. Tour is approximately 2 hours. A self-guided tour will be available later this year.
    • Visit the Goldman Memorial Museum in the Madge Rothschild Resource Center for its grand opening. Highlights include a timeline covering 200 years of Jewish history in Northeast Indiana; an exhibit about the Jewish holidays; and a Torah remnant that survived the Holocaust.
    • Discover more about Jewish traditions and community. Docents will be available to answer your questions.
    • Experience klezmer-inspired music performed by a String Quartet from the Fort Wayne Philharmonic
    • Enjoy a nosh that includes Jewish favorites for holidays and year-round.
    • Learn more about the Temple’s partners on the Rifkin Campus.

Thank You To Our 175th Anniversary Committee:

Co-Chairs: Kathy Sider and Beth Zweig

Fran Adler

Rabbi Meir Bargeron

Jamie Berger

Cheri Buker

Nancy Dicker

Janet Finkel

Stephanie Gottesman

Norm Greenberg

Ronnie Greenberg

Dawn Hammond

Marcia Reynolds

Cheryl Schorey

Samara Sheray

John Stein

Jon Tam

Donna Tourkow

Irene Walters

Mimi Zelman